Ingleborough! Crossing into the dark side!!

Ingleborough! Crossing into the dark side!!

I’d always wanted to camp or Bivvy on Ingleborough, my mates always told me that it was really windy so I chose a really calm day!
I used a track that I had run at a previous time before the back put paid to fell running!
It runs out of the ack of Ingleton and takes a fairly direct line to the summit-avoiding the 3 peaks traffic…. The air was warm and the breeze was slight as I set off. I was mindful of horse flies and midges as I stared down at my bare legs! The track weaves it’s way through high limestone intake walls housing lovely Swaledale sheep-not as nice as the Hedrwicks though I am biased! After a mile or so you pass through a gate and the majesty of Ingleborough shines. A long rambling trail peaked with limestone and gritstone-the highest in the UK -escarpment! Beautiful. The track follows a small stream trickling peaty water from hidden bogs giving a playground to water boatmen and other water loving insects! Also a place to fill my platypus bottles as I am trying my new water filter from Sawyer. As the track rises a better view of Whernside is granted and amazing limestone pavements. It really is a stunning landscape. Before long the path steepens and three tiers of limestone breaks are battled through and the pack reveals its true weight!
At last, the summit plateau opens before me. The ruin of the tower and the large summit shelter and trig are the only breaks in an otherwise flat expanse. The first thing that was apparent though was the bloody wind! Great! I ambled around looking for a pitch for the tarp but it was so exposed! Eventually I found a perfect little recess amongst the gritstone with built in cooking and sitting ledges! I pulled out my kit arranging it neatly on the ledges-my own little outdoor kitchen! I set to work putting up my Terra Nova tarp. I use both poles to make a shelter that is closed at the ‘head’ end. It works well in most conditions. The winds on Ingleborough had other plans though. I laid out my groundsheet and Bivvy and bag. My Mountain Hardwear Phantom 32 is perfect in summer and Moonlite Bivvy Cover from Terra Nova also are a great combination for late summer. After I got set up I sat looking over to the Lakes and wondering if the winds was as strong there?? The tarp rattled and vibrated as I fired up the Jetboil for dinner and brew! ‘Look what we Found ‘ chicken tikka masala was on the menu tonight! I use a long handles Sea to Summit spoon which prevents you getting food all over your hands when digging for the last morsels in the bottom of the pouch 🙂
Dusk approaches and the last few walkers have gone and the local Swalies move in. One is particularly interested in what I’m doing on their mountain! She walks over and literally nuzzles my hand! She then checks out my sleeping quarters and then wanders off to join the rest of the flock! Brilliant! What a treat! Love sheep 🙂
The wind feels stronger now and after another brew and some painkillers I settle down for the night. Within an hour the tarp is down! They are too noisy if the winds get too strong and they annoyingly press on your head… Then it’s the weirdly exposed time. The tarp makes you feel safe for some bizarre reason-it’s just a piece of nylon. But when it’s gone…….it’s a strange sensation lying in the dark with your headtorch for comfort! Even though you can see the twinkling lights of the town below it can feel a little exposed and lonely. I soon drift into an uneasy sleep concentrating on the words to the Ben Howard track I’m listening to quietly…. The night is rough and the wind wakes me several times, the mist has dropped and everything is dripping with moisture, I hope each time the sunrise will come soon! Eventually the sky lightens and I stare into the blue with boggy eyes..thank god I don’t bother with a mirror! I wriggle out of my bag and shiver in the morning chill..damn that wind!! I don’t bother packing but instead stuff every thing into my Osprey Exos and amble to the summit shelter for instant porridge and instant coffee! Feeling warm in the shelter I watch the sunrise fully before the walk back to the reality of real life…..after my painkillers of course!

Cheeky Swaledale!
Cheeky Swaledale!
My little friend!
My little friend!
Set up on Ingleborough with sheep!
Set up on Ingleborough with sheep!
Lone Cyclocross rider on the summit of Ingleborough.
Lone Cyclocross rider on the summit of Ingleborough.
Sheltering Swalwdale.
Sheltering Swalwdale.
Overly Friendly Swaledale!
Overly Friendly Swaledale!
Ladybird visit!
Ladybird visit!
Sunrise from Ingleborough.
Sunrise from Ingleborough.

14 thoughts on “Ingleborough! Crossing into the dark side!!

  1. Hi Kate. Saw your post in the WC group about your blog so thought I would follow you.

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one to find Ingleborough breezy! I’ve nearly been blown off my feet a number of times there. The only other place i can think of that regularly gets winds like that is the tarn at the back of the Old Man (Goat Tarn???).

    Anyhow, enjoyed your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant idea Kate, I mean to start a blog sometime, to keep a record of my trips for future reference.
    its great to read about people’s adventures, when your stuck at work and cant get away, keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

