Caw Bivvy

Caw Bivvy

Well, I didn’t really have much of a mojo when I set off. My winter pack felt heavy and clumsy as I trailed off from Eskdale. I love Caw. It’s not actually a Wainwright! It’s a great mountain though. You can pretty much see the trig point from where you set off.
The route starts up a well marked bridle way near the Newfield Inn-very good ale house! The track was made to service the slate working half way up. After a long zig and zag I made it to the working. It’s still open and has a ruin or two outside. There is graffitti on the summit chiselled into the rock; I think its from the quarrymen as they tended to carve their initials near or in the mines they worked in.
The path goes steeply upwards here and I had a quick bite to eat before continuing. It’s a flog to the summit but well worth it for the views! The panorama is lovely to the coast and round the the snowy Scafells.
It was windier than anticipated but manageable! I intended to pitch on the summit but it was pretty soggy underfoot. I wandered around for a good hour before settling for a little niche with some protection from the strengthening winds! I set out my kit -I had to use some twigs as pegs for my groundsheet as I forgot mine! My #fizan trekking poles were handy.. I soon got settled down and the mist closed in for a while. Some light squally rain passed but didn’t make for much discomfort….
Food time! I fired up my jetboil and got on with my ‘look what we found’ pouch meal! I love these as you can boil them in the bag! I’m sure they aren’t designed for that but it works ok! After dinner I had a little mess about with tripod and camera but it was a little windy to get any good shots.
The Stars were starting to blanket the sky even with the light pollution from the coast. There were loads of satellites and a few shooting stars to watch. The wind was hissing through the grass and rocks, the only other sound was the odd herdwicks calling to each other and the distant sound of an aeroplane.
I drifted into a deep sleep with only a couple of wakings through the night.
Sunrise was amazing…though I did sleep through most of it! The wind had changed direction and I was feeling the full force of it and it was icy! I made my brew and packed quickly as the mist was descending and there was rain in the air.
It was a pleasant walk down to the car and I didn’t see a soul! Fab!

Looking to Black Combe.
Looking to Black Combe.
Looking to Coniston Fells.
Looking to Coniston Fells.
Set up on Caw.
Set up on Caw.
Changing weather over Dow Crag.
Changing weather over Dow Crag.
Feeling the chill. Sherpa Shankar Jacket doing its stuff!
Feeling the chill. Sherpa Shankar Jacket doing its stuff!

Leave a Reply

